Schools should cut funding for extracurricular activities such as sports and arts when school buildings are in need of repair.

Activities like sports and arts form an important part of student carriculum at schools and students get a chance to showcase their tallents besides their academic strengths. Taking away support to these activities and reforming the infrastructure of the school may does sound compromising and but it surely would deprive children and their pportunities.

A child tends to look out for arts and sports activities in his everyday school- it is no doubt an excursion from the mundane lectures they get to hear throughout the day. I will surely crush them to know that the school can no longer fund teachers or support competitions for them as there will be some who would be emotionally dependant on those activities. I have ever been too enthusiastic about my art classes during my school time- although I always liked these periods to get out of those boring science lectures or draining math sessions. There were some who had a flair in art and used to come to school only to enjoy those art sessions and workshops, I could not imagine the plight of all of us if our school had to cut off our arts sessions to divert resources to building repairs. The responsibility of maintaining steady funds is of the trustees, why should children bear with the consequesces?

With the time the building repairs are taking place, the students might miss out on certain opportunities like competitions or workshops. Sports needs continous practice and regular competition experience, if that is snatched away from children, they tend to lose out their chances of participation which may not come back again. Imagine a football team which has worked hard throughout the year and is promising to bring accolades for their school this year- the school will depreive themselves as well as the entire team by regulating funds to buiding repairs. After the repairs are done and the chidren get back their chance, they may not perform the same this time, considering the gap which they have had during the season.

The decision needs to be deliberated upon when it comes to safety of the students as well. If the repairs demand signinficant amount of funds and if the school cannot afford it, than the school needs to take care of it and suspend all other activities for some time. At the cost of the everyone's safety, I think arts and sports can take a break for some time. Imagine if the repairs are not mended and the schools continue to ignore them- the children could face a precarious situations and the school might face untoward incidents if any student gets hurt or gets injured due to undue maintainence.

Therefore schools need to reconsider the students perspective before takeing away their funding. Many depend on these opportunities but also be careful and ensure their safety.