If two applicants for a job are otherwise equally qualified, the job should go to the applicant with more experience.

Every individual has some unique characteristics. Although equally qualified two candidates can be differentiated with many other attributes other than experience.

More experience in a field does not mean a person has better ideas. A candidate who is prompt and profuse with new ideas is more suitable than a parochial, experienced candidate. If a candidate is getting into the profession of graphic design, the candidate must possess technical skills along with a creative mind. A highly experienced designer may make be quick at making the designs, but there are many adroit professionals like him out there. So how will the recruiting organization have a peculiar work if they too hire professionals with similar abilities?

People with expertise in a particular field have very less to explore. So would that suffice for the job role? In today's world be it any field, people get hired for their inquisitive mind and desire to perform beyond their potential. A recruiter could look for these traits in the candidate and determine weather he/she would continue to explore uncharted territories where no experienced developers would ever reach. In the field of reseach a young applicant would have more enthusiasm than a well established researcher. Although the young applicant can prove better if given a chance as he would encounter all those problems for the first time and solve them in his own unique way. The inexperienced candidate could perhaps garner new techniques with his sheer willpower to learn more.

Notwithstanding the inquisitive nature of the candidate, one must possess enough skills and experience to be able to get the companies demands satisfied. If we hire more experienced software developers the development is bound to be quick. For job roles which demand work to be done with minimal time, nothing can preempt the experience needed to complete the required task. Lesser experienced developers may be enough skilled to compelete the task but would eat up on the resources of the organizations which is not admissable.

Different job roles require different type of candidates. An experienced candidate can provide speed and accuracy while an new comer can provide new innovative ideas.