schools should do more to prepare students for the non-academic aspects of adulthood.
School no doubt form a pivotal role a student life, they definitely need to nurture
and develop children to face the adult world out there. Although priority to quality
education is of utmost concern to any school and a well educated individual is surely
to prosper in adult life.
Adulthood is based more on experiences one faces in his/her life. We can only share
out experience, but a student would only realize and learn when he/she experieneces it
for themselves.No text book can ever replace these experiences, or there can never be
a handbook which summerizes these life skills.
Moreover adulthood in general is something comes naturally in humans.
Social life skills are learnt only when students come out of their comfort zones, and there
fore schools can not give adequate attention to their lives outside their premises. It all boils
down to the life choices one makes- shcools should focus on academics which would embellish
these decisions made, making them more prudent.
If schools start focussing on non-academic aspects of adulthood than what roles do
parent's have in grooming their child? Parents should invest their time in the areas
where the schools cannot reach. Children follow and learn from their parents and therefore
all their actions are a mere reflection of how the parents have raised them. And this
is idiosyncratic, perhaps which is sacred to each and every individual family- all families
may not want schools to encroach their space here while they do their jobs.
Being the formative years of a student, the scool should plant the seeds of generosity and empathy
in children. Aspects of social well being and community welfare if thought in shcools
will not be futile in any way. In fact, this genereation is seeing busy parents who are
not giving enough to their children. Who will their role models be? School should therefore
intervene and provide adequate assistance to students and make them aware of adulthood
which is eminent in coming years. For example a student who sees his parents getting divorced,
may get a wrong notion of marriege in general. It is imperetive for schools to therefore provide
a non-academic support to such students or else they could follow wrong path in future.
Adulthood is therefore cannot be subjectively taught in schools- the mere idea of textbooks
for teaching adulthood would iteself be rejected by students, thus debunking the whole point of
teaching them. Although parents should take the responsibility of paving a proper path in a
child's adult life.