The city council of Town X has proposed reducing the city's electric expenses by switching all the lights in public building from incandescent bulbs to light-emitting diodes (LEDs). The switch would be made gradually as the old incandescent bulbs burn out, and the city council reasons that since LED lights burn brighter and cost no more to purchase, the switch would help Town X save money on electrical costs in the future.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered to help evaluate the efficacy of the city council's proposal to save money on electrical costs. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the council's prediction.

Firstly, it is mentioned that only public buildings would would undergo this change of lighting.

Why not other public places as well? Public roads, gardens and many other places need

to be included. Moreover public buildings may consume less power as they do not have all

lights working throughout the night, albeit street lighting is mandatory. This neglect

is not suppoerted or justified anywhere in the passage given, thereforre it may not necessarily

reduce a siginificant amount of energy costs for the city. Had all the public places been included

for this change, the proposition would have seemed promising.

Secondly, it is indicated that the incandescant bulbs will be replaced once they stoop

working or fuse out. This points to the question of the life of these LED bulbs. Are

they going to last as long as the old bulbs? It could be possible that the these bulbs need replacement

more than the incandescant bulbs needed- thus losing credibility of reducing the overall

costs. Perhaps the cost of continuing with the old bulbs might commensurate

with the cost of replacing these ephimereal LED bulbs.The propostition hold true if the l

life of an LED bulb is the no more that of an incandescent bulb.

Lastly, LED bulbs may burn brighter than the old bulbs- that does not implicate they consume

lesser power. There is no information provided on the wattage of an incandescent bulb and LED bulb,

which simply loses the credibility in the idea that this replacement is going to bode favourable

towards the electrical costs in the future. A 40 watt incandescent bulb for example provides 60 lux of

luminocity wheras a 60 watt LED bulb provides 80 lux. The math does not go well in this assumption and

therefore we need to know more about the wattage of both the old and new bulbs.

Night time is the only time lighting is necessary, therefore all public places should be included inthis plan.

This idea seems plausible only when adequate information is provided on the wattage and life span of each bulb.

Overlooking these technical aspects is a gross mistake Town X is making.