In order for any work of art—for example, a film, a novel, a poem, or a song—to have merit, it must be understandable to most people.

Obscure and sophisticated art has always been acknowledged and termed meritorious regardless of how the people understand it.

For generations, scholars have been studying art which are revered and termed timeless. Legendary works always attract more attention which not only lasts for its time but continues to inspire the future generation. But why is it that these works are more influential than other ordinary ones? Why is it that even till this date schools all around the world include Shakespeare’s plays in their curriculum? Or scholars create new interpretations of the poems written by Yeats? These works possess the finesse and novelty which gives them ascendance over other contemporary works. Such works are a class apart, and if a common man is unable to comprehend it, it does not undermine its merit in any way.

Secondly, major works of art are usually the ones which are idiosyncratic and uncategorical. They usually remain enigmatic to most and even generations to come. Not everyone has a taste for exquisite art, in fact many people are aloof to majority of the fine distinctions which a particular piece of work portrays. To really appreciate and merit art, one needs to understand the time, society,culture in which it was created. For example, knowing the life of the legendary artist Frieda Kahlo is crucial for understanding her works. A person who does not know what kind of suffering she went through or how women were treated at that time, will clearly not understand the depth in her works- and yet it remains one of the most revered and appreciated works.

All forms of art are influential to the society and they play a pivotal role in showcasing something very significant at that point of creation. For example contemporary peoms and films which illustrate the attrocities faced by women in the society or about goverment corruption would widely influence people. Although, convoluted works would preclude the people from understanding and gaining insights of what the author is interested in portraying. And this would gainsay people’s awareness.

Art has always been about creativity and novelty. The onus lies on the viewers to understand the depth and message conveyed by the creators. Would we call it art if it was so simple and outright?