The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

The Oceania University has decided to retain its faculty by providing their children complete tuituion waiver. It is a tricky aspect when faculty are rewarded with such a perk. This keeps the quality of education hamstrung in many ways, which have been overlooked.

Firstly, when such schemes are widely put to use, the common student body not having their parent on the faculty board would feel deprived. That would definitely be a large number of students who do not get equal rights as children who enjoy the perquisite of their faculty-parents. This would discredit the credibility of scholarships and sports merit. Thus to retain the faculty as well as the belief in the student scholarships, the school should provide a subsidized fee for faculty for their children.

Secondly, decision of free tuition disrupts the schooling ethics in general. If a student gets full waiver through scholarships they tend to get a sense of satisfaction and pride in what they have achieved, bolstering their confidence to prove even more in academics. When a child of a faculty gets free tuition, the child may get care-free belittle the education they are recieving. I had a friend in school who was a son of the chariman of board od associates. His parents owned the school, which gave him the freedom to do anything he wanted with impunity. He had the worst grades in class and yet was promoted to higher grades. Later in life this friend is struggling to pass examinations and surpassing interview tests where their parents influence does not reach.

Thirdly, new professors would defnitely come join the University and old faculty would no doubted have a boosted morale, but sincerely will they be indebted to the University or the teaching profession ?

It is possible that the new professors join who have their childrent getting admitted in this university, and vacate their jobs as soon as their children complete their study free of cost. Moreover the old faculty may lose thier enthusiasm as they no longer are pressured to perform well in academia when they feel prestiged by giving such a concession for having their children in same University. THe entire point of faculty retention fails at this conjecture.

University is a place for qaulity education and faculty retention should not be at the expense of depriving the quality itself.