The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author concludes here that, Seatown University should offer the professors free-tution for their child to achieve higher professor retention rate. Stated in this way, the argument fails to mention some key features, on the basis of which it could have been evaluated. To support his claim, the author reasons that, as Oceania University have higher professor retention rate when professors are offered free-tuition for their child, Seatown University should also follow that strategy to achieve similar professor retention rate. However, careful scrutiny of evidence will reveal little credible support for the author's claim that. Hence, the claim can be considered to be incomplete and unsustainable.

Firstly, the author readily assumes that, higher retention rate of Oceania University is due to the strategy of free-tuition. This is merely an assumption without much solid ground. To illustrate, there could be other factors like home facility, higher salary, job for wife etc all of which worked together for the institute in question. Hence, the argument would have been convincing if it explicitly stated that, there is no difference in other facilities for professors in Oceania and Seatown University.

Again, the author points out that, the tuition-free strategy will lure new professors. This is another weak and unsupported claim that does not demonstrate a clear correlation among, new professors with tuition-free facility. For example, new professor can be unmarried and can have plan of never having children. So, if the author proved with credible evidence that this facility can actually attract new professors , it could have been convincing for the reader.

Furthermore, the argument raises some skeptical questions. Are there other universities in which Oceania University's strategy worked? Are the other facilities provided in Oceania University? Are there more professor in Seatown Univeristy than in Oceaniua? Without answering these questions, the reader is left the impression that the argument is just wishful thinking of the author rather than substantive evidence.

Finally, the argument is unpersuasive as it stands. To bolster further, the auther must have provided some statistics or other means of evidence to reason his claim.