The following appeared in a letter from the faculty committee to the president of Seatown University:

A study conducted at nearby Oceania University showed that faculty retention is higher when professors are offered free tuition at the university for their own college-aged children. Therefore, Seatown should institute a free-tuition policy for its professors for the purpose of enhancing morale among the faculty and luring new professors.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The given letter seems to be somewhat obscured with respect to the facts that it presents. It just represents a study without any surveys, reports and numbers to bolster the fact that it claims. At last, it tries to imbibe the same conditions present elsewhere to guarantee success at its own end.

The first sentence specifies that faculty retention is higher at Oceania University when tuition for children of professors are completely waived. This does not reflect any number or percentages on the number of professors being retained by using such a strategy. Also number of professors willing their children to study at such university is also not specified. Hence, the given sentence seems to be somewhat incomprehensible with respect to the fact that it tries to represent.

Although free tuition might incline some of the professor to have their children's as a part of the university, but there are a multiple factors which guarantees an admission. There might be some more good universities that the one presented in the letter that the professors might be interested in, either for their children or for themselves to enhance their future. Hence, free tuition might add some applications to university but admission is not guaranteed based on just a single criteria.

The last sentence specifies that the same policy of free tuition must be inculcated by Seatown University in order to retain their professors. Such a comparison might be completely vague as conditions that exists near Oceania University might not be same as in Seatown University. There might be a case that applying the same policy might not be as effective as in the former one. Also, there might be some other charges or fees that Oceania might be applying apart from tuition on their students. Hence, it might be completely unreasonable to apply the factors that guarantee success at one university to have the same effect at the other.

Hence, some more insight is required in order for the letter to be evaluated as valid for policy enhancement at Seatown university. Based on only the study presented, it might lead to some unfavorable conditions which might lead Seatown University into some kind of trouble. Therefore, a complete report on conditions existing at both the universities might then be useful for some fruitful decisions.