Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Mass media and Internet have made life's easier for people by making information available in huge quantities as and when required. Although, it has a number of advantages but the negative side cannot be overlooked. People are more focused towards the influential things whether or not, it might be wrong or correct, but still is described and made available on internet and mass media.

A number of news channels, now, have their own websites, digging through which, information is made available in more detail. Internet has created a metropolitan society where each and every news from any corner of the continent is made available within minutes. Short summary of the news is enough for people to differentiate information which they ought to read and which ones to neglect. Hence, considering above factors, people's time has been reduced by a huge extant by making each and every thing available as required.

Although the point stated above has a number of advantages, we cannot overlook the fact that as more and more information is available, redundant news or information regarding any fallacies is also spreading at an alarming rate. People are being baffled with wrong information and just as people tend to read it within short spans, sometimes overlook the main point and trust the information without reading any further. This then creates a bad notion among the population and people then tend to behave accordingly. Hence, focusing on just the information that is valid, sometimes has a negative effect on people.

If we consider an example of online mails which contain information such as lottery and prize money pool which have been won by the people who receive such mail. In some cases, as people are already aware of such fraudulent mails tend to ignore such mails. While, majority of people tend to overlook any information related to online scams or technology based as such news do not tend to their areas of interest, are the main culprit of such mails. This results in huge money loss or cyber attack. Hence, although media and internet provide huge information, some people just tend to overlook some of those as they are completely divergent than the things which they are interested in.

Hence, even if media and internet has allowed people to dig through a huge quantity of information and has made it more easier and time effective for people, it has exacerbated the previous frauds. As people tend to read only the things which are important, they tend to sometimes miss the more important things which might prove to be beneficent for them. Summaries from mass media and internet might not be able to replace the traditional newspaper which contains information of day to day activities in much more detail.