Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able  to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important

In this era of technology, people surely are being furnished with a lot of information which certainly is specific to their respective interests while in the earlier times, before the advent of internet, people use to go through a ton of resources before acquiring the knowledge they required.

In a way, this surfing through a whole lot of information would give a wider insight to the subject rather than going through the information that people think would be suffice.

Relying on published articles, books etc from authentic sources is more beneficial than easier sources like blogs or internet articles from unknown authors.

While it is true that internet holds abundant of information, the quality content out of this sea of information is very limited. Moreover it is difficult to distinguish the spurious content from the authentic ones as internet provides equal freedom to everyone, from an erudite to an absolutely naive person, everyone gets equal opportunity to express themselves and also one of the major problems of the internet is that majority of the people do not reveal their true identity or stay anonymous while publishing their articles or blogs, which makes it difficult to determine the authenticity of the content. Take the example of the information giant, Wikipedia, anyone can post content on it, there is no such check on the authenticity and validity of the content.

With the identity of the author being uncertain, many criminal minded people can make use of this loophole to spread false rumours, which could cause disputes in the society.

This is not the case with published journals or books as the content is crosschecked before being published. Also, there are certain web sites that emulate the design of the original ones, in this case, people might think they are gathering information from an authentic source which in reality is a ruse to educate people with the wrong information. In this case, people should be aware of the original website’s address and check if they are on the right address while clicking on a site.

With the advent of mass media and internet, it can be observed that the majority of content reaching common people is unauthentic which is producing knowledgable yet naive people.

In my views, while internet is a great place to gain knowledge, we should also make sure that the sources we are obtaining information from are reliable and accurate.