Some parents forbid young children from owning smart phones cell phones with Internet access while others disagree and believe that they are important tools for keeping in touch Which point of view do you think is better and why

Smart phones are revolutionary electronic devices. Due to the affordable prices today, almost every household in the world owns atleast one smart phone. While this device is very beneficial, when it is not used for right purposes, it can be hazardous. Therefore, it is better to forbid young children from using smart phones.

With the advent of social media, most people are being affected with phone addiction. It is not unknown that most youngsters spend lot of their precious time on social media platforms like Facebook, Instagram, twitter and so on. Since, surfing the social media does not require a lot of cognitive function, it does not help improve an individual's intellect. This can be particularly hazardous for young children as that is the age where many body parts are malleable and therefore, they must use this time should be used for their cognitive development. Hence, young children cannot waste their precious time on smart phones, instead they must utilize this time for their development.

Smart phones are giving rise to many unprecedented health problems. Most people who spend a lot of time on phones, tend to stay indoors and therefore, do not receive the required sunlight and do not perform prescribed amount of exercise that a body needs. This leads to Vitamin D deficiency which can give rise to many fatal diseases and lack of exercise can lead to bone problems and obesity. Excessive use of smart phones can also cause postural problems, people tend to bend their necks for long time which eventually causes upper back problems. Young children who need to develop strength and immunity in the younger age itself can be addicted to smart phones and develop all these problems at that age. These problems can decrease their immunity and lead to complications at a very young age. Young children must utilize their energy rather to play outdoors and develop immunity from many diseases, something that is not possible after a certain age.

Everything has its pros and cons. While, smart phones are proving to be useful for many mundane tasks, it is also leading to many new age problems like cyber bullying. Recent surge of cyber crime cases, shows the dark side of the internet. Young children, who are ignorant and immature of these crimes can fall prey to many criminals online. For example, recently a game called blue whale lead to the death of many youngsters across the world. Apparently, this game challenges young kids to take up dangerous tasks and naive children fell prey to this monstrous scheme and ended up losing their precious lives. For most of such schemes, young children are a target as they are naive and hence, parents should protect their children from being manipulated by such criminals on the internet by forbidding them using smart phones or by closely monitoring them while using phones.

In conclusion, smart phones can be very useful as well as very dangerous. Therefore, in order to protect their children from dangers online and any potential health issues, parents must not provide their child with smart phones until they reach a certain age.