Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

A leader by definition, is a person who is chosen by the people to act as their guide for better lives and also who can stand out for them in time of need. So, a leader's most important characteristic is to maintain a good rapport with his or her people but at the same time, it is a leader's responsibility to guide his/her people to follow an ethical path.

An idealistic leader is someone who practices strong moral values and galvanize his or her peers in doing the same. If a leader himself or herself forgoes ethics then a whole bunch of people idolizing him or her will refuse to follow morals. A leader should be veracious to his or her people in conveying his or her principles and should be able to elucidate his or her goals and the path to achieve them. Since people become amenable when it comes to their leader, a leader should be able to persuade his or her peers to follow a righteous path to achieve their goals, which is one of the prime characteristic of a leader.

So, in my opinion, since a leader is idolized by many people around him or her, it is important for him or her to have a sound moral judgment as his or her judgment influences, he or she holds a responsibilty to guide his or her people with right path to fulfill their goals. He or She should be prudent when it comes to influencing people with his or her ideas for them. A leader should also be able to persuade his or her in following his or her ideas for the struggle to achieve a goal, if he or she fails to do so, it would be a failure for him or her as a leader because the primary quality a leader should possess is that he or she should be able to persuade his or her peers to agree to him or her no matter what.

Hence, for a leader to be effective should have a strong moral conscious along with maintaining the respect of his/her peers.