Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

<span style="font-size: 19.36px;">A leader by definition, is a person who is chosen by the people to act as their guide for better lives and also who can stand out for them in time of need. So, a leader's most important characteristic is to maintain a good rapport with his or her people but at the same time, it is a leader's responsibility to guide his/her people to follow an ethical path.

An idealistic leader is someone who practices strong moral values and galvanize his or her peers in doing the same. If a leader himself or herself forgoes ethics then a whole bunch of people idolizing him or her will refuse to follow morals. A leader should be veracious to his or her people in conveying his or her principles and should be able to elucidate his or her goals and the path to achieve them. Since people become amenable when it comes to their leader, a leader should be able to persuade his or her peers to follow a righteous path to achieve their goals, which is one of the prime characteristic of a leader. Also, the people's veneration for their leader should not lower when he or she makes decisions with strong moral conscience since a leader should be able to persuade his or her peers to follow him or her without any contigency with the decisions he or she takes.

So, in my opinion, since a leader is idolized by many people around him or her, it is important for him or her to have a sound moral judgment as his or her judgment influences, he or she holds a responsibility to guide his or her people with right path to fulfill their goals. He or She should be prudent when it comes to influencing people with his or her ideas for them.

Hence, for a leader to be effective should have a strong moral conscience along with maintaining the respect of his/her peers.</span><br>