Colleges and universities should require all faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in professions relevant to the courses they teach.

A person's familiarity with a field, can be pondered by his or her ability to apply that knowledge in the real world. Since, a teacher is someone who guides his or her students, he or she must be well furnished about the applications of a field in the real world and he or she must also be able to convey these applications to the students. Hence, I agree with the policy that colleges and universitites should require all of its faculty to spend time working outside the academic world in the professions relevant to the courses they teach.

It is a widely known fact that knowledge gained through experience will have a great impact on us as compared to the knowledge gained by traditional means like reading or listening. Therefore, empiricism is an effective learning method, but for the faculty to incorparate such techniques in their teaching, they themselves must be aware of the knowledge gained through experiences. Hence, professors who spend some time working outside the academic world in professions related to the courses they teach, will be acquainted with the real world applications of a field and they will be able to teach their students with emphasis on the practical applications of the field.

Most students take up courses in schools and universities to make a career in that particular field. Colleges and universities offer courses that are rich in theory, but this will not be suffice when a student tries to enter the professional world, as it requires an indiviual to have a knowledge of the real world workings. Hence, if professors are required to have a professional experience, then they can help design a curriculum that can train the students for the professional world.

Professors who have spent some time working outside the academic world, can help the students to have a successful career by guiding about the requirements in the professional world and the skills they need to develop. They can train their students to be a good working professional.

Professors having a completely academical approach to teaching is not always a bane as academical approach covers all the concepts ina field but if a professor tunes his or her course based on his or her professional experience then the concepts covered in the course will be limited and will be confined to the professors experience outside the academic world. For a student to become a successful professional, he or she must have abundant knowledge on the field, which can help them solve any kind of crisis in their profession. Hence, the professors should not modify the course based on their professional experience but they should rather emphasise on the industrial requirement while covering all the concepts.

Hence, the policy can be beneficial for students who wish to make a career in the field that they are pursuing.