Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

Teachers are people who are experienced in a certain field and hence, have an influence on students, whereas, friends are as experienced as us and therefore, they cannot influence us professional. Although, their influence on our personal lives can be evident but it is teachers whose influence can have a life changing impact. Hence, I agree with the statement that students are more influenced by their teachers than by their friends.

For most of the students, teachers are their role models, since they are the adults that students encounter frequently for a long duration, they look up to their teachers. For example, if a student is interested in a field, the only direct source of inspiration who has a cornucopia of information regarding the field will be the teacher and hence, the student will take inspiration from the teacher in order to excel in that field.

The teachers have power over their students. The grades they give a student can decide a students's future and hence, they have a certain power over the students. Due to this power, a student will have to listen to their teachers and hence, there is a high likelihood that he or she might get influenced by him or her in this process. For example, if a Humanities course is required for graduation, then a student will opt for the course and due to the fear of not getting graduated he or she will have to attend these classes. While a student attends such classes, he or she will have no option other than listening and imbibing the lecture and eventually getting influenced by their teachers.

Teachers in many schools get involved in interesting academic work like research, experiments and attending international events. A teacher involved in such activities will be approached by students and participate in his or her work. Therefore, a teacher's work can also influence students.