Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more influenced by their teachers than by

their friends. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

A significant amount of our life is spent at school. Thus, our personalities and decisions are shaped in this atmosphere. That students are more influenced by their teachers rather than their friends has always been a controversial issue. Some believe that teachers impact the students' behaviors and characteristics more profoundly, whereas others possess an alternative perspective that the students are more under the influence of their peers. In this case, I contend with the former group.

To begin with, psychologists have conducted many surveys that reveal the influence of peers on our life or the so-called peer pressure. It means that when we observe the tendency of our peers toward something, we are more likely to follow and even copy them. This can be either to gain acceptance among them and not be labeled as an outlier or to avoid the feeling of being behind. as a personal experience, when I was 11 years old, all my classmates were attending extracurricular classes to improve their scores. Although I was good at all my lessons, I attended those classes too. Because I did not want to feel left out and I thought that those classes provided students with additional knowledge that I lacked.

Moreover, it is hard for most students, especially in their teen years to form an intimate bond with their mentors and teachers. Since students hold the notion that teachers have an upside-down perspective on them, the age and generation gap between them does not help with the situation either. Hence, the teachers can have far less influence on the students. In research conducted by researchers, students confessed that they find their peers and friends to be more reasonable and that they cannot find the teacher’s advice lucrative due to the age and generation gap.

To sum it up, although some people think that teachers play a more significant role in students' lives, students are more under the impression of their peers and friends. Due to human nature, people mostly look up to their peers, to acquire their acceptance and avoid feeling behind or left out. Furthermore, the age difference and generation gap between students and their teachers hamper these groups to bond closely. Most of the time students claim that they cannot relate to their teachers. Thus, with all the foregoing reasons, the significant influence of peers on one’s life is not negligible.