Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Telephone has greater influence on people's lives than television has.

It is crystal clear that the advent of new technology in the field of communication has had a profound impact on the life of those that are exposed to it. Many people claim that the invention of the telephone was a revolutionary change. However, I firmly believe that mass media like television has a greater impact on people's lives because of its visual effects. The reasons in support of the idea are elaborated in the following paragraphs.

First, people can be easily manipulated via television. In this era, different groups of stakeholders, from world leaders and decision-makers to multinational or even local businesses, are constantly in search of methods to influence people and brainwash them into believing what they want and benefit from. It is an old saying according to which people believe what they see. So, they try to depict what they want with the help of this media and make people have faith in it. For instance, once a soda company tried to mount its sale by embedding pictures of a man drinking it in the middle of scenes of a movie that was irrelevant actually to it. This scene was so short that most people even did not notice it, but the subliminal message was effective enough to thrust people into purchasing the drink after the movie. In other words, the impact of visual advertisement cannot be neglected, even on the subconscious level.

Moreover, repetition can play a significant role in convincing people and conveying messages. To put it differently, repetition is a form of learning. When a person is exposed to new information, at first, he/she may refuse to accept and believe it. However, when the information is repeated over and over again, the initial abnormality would wash off, and the person would come to the notion that what is said is true and believable. Mass media , specifically television, have paved the way for this kind of data transfer. As a personal experience, I have found myself buying a lot of stuff that was advertised successively on TV, which I initially thought were rubbish and unnecessary. Not only do business people benefit from this repetition that TV has provided, but also leaders and governors can benefit from it, too. To shed light on this issue, it has occurred many times that people may not be in favor of a specific policy, say increasing taxes, introduced by the government. But the government makes its way through people's disagreement by showing documentaries of how good this extra money can be put in use. At first, people may think that what is illustrated is not correct, but after it is repeated on television, people come to think that, "Yeah, that is right.", So they go with it.

To sum it all up, television can have conspicuous impacts on people's lives in several ways by presenting subliminal massaging and repeating information. Even when the data may not be correct, people would eventually get on board with it.