A company wants to use the money to help employees work better. One way is to improve the technology equipment (computers, printers) used by employees and improve efficiency. Another way is to redesign the space to make the working environment more comfortable and have more meeting rooms for discussion. Which way do you recommend? Why?

There exist myriad paths by which efficacy in the workplace can be promoted and enhanced. That which way leads to a more prolific work environment has always been a contentious issue. Some people hold the conviction that upgrading the equipment can be a good impetus for employees to work better; on the other hand, others have an alternative perspective and notion that renovating and optimizing the space where the employees work and hold meetings can play a far more significant role. To my best knowledge, the design of the environment can be of better aid in this stance for several reasons that will be expounded in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, the environment one spends time has a direct impact on their mentality and efficacy. In fact, if one works in a bleak environment, an environment that is packed with tedious furniture and partitions with nowhere to refer to when taking a break, their mood can substantially degrade. Even when they get tired, they have nowhere else to go to take a break from the suffocating and gloomy environment. Thus, all this disheartens and discourages people from working passionately since all they want to do is just hurriedly do their responsibilities to flee away from their workplace. A survey conducted by a university in my hometown revealed that renovation and optimization of the work environment, adding some greeneries, and improving the aesthetic outlook of the space can enhance the proficiency of workers by 70%. Because workers are not frustrated by the gloomy work environment and the new designs have provided employees with some cozy places to unwind and revitalize when they feel tired, they tend not to leave the office early and feel refreshed and motivated all along.

Furthermore, the optimized design of the work environment and meeting rooms can lead to better communication among office employees, as well as visitor entrepreneurs. New studies in the field of interior design and architecture have revealed that open area designs can increase the rapport among colleagues and endow a better means of communication. Nevertheless, closed spaces, such as small office rooms or even worth suffocating cubicles, act as barriers to the free flow of communication. For instance, when our company decided to renovate the old building and create some open areas for workers, people communicated more readily. When someone encountered a challenge or problem, experienced workers can get involved and help resolve the issue with less effort and frustration. In addition, due to the modern look of the environment, the interaction between different businesses with our company took a giant leap as well. This look makes others believe the company is not stuck in the past. Unlike its old history, it can go with the flow and implement modern methods, all of which help build a more trust-based relationship with other companies and higher success rates for the company itself.

To recapitulate, due to the better flow of communication in the modern designs and the revitalizing sense that these new designs bring along, the efficacy of workers can enhance substantially. On the other hand, adding only new devices when the physical infrastructure has deteriorated dramatically cannot be as much of an assistance in increasing efficiency. People's mental health and social interactions are far more important than state-of-the-art technology. Had it not been for the convenient work environment of most renowned companies like Google, these companies would not have been able to be so much prosperous. Who can ignore the impact of the appropriate setting after all these reasons?