Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

Movies and TV programs made in one’s own country are

more interesting than those made in other countries.

Nowadays, mass media comprising movies and TV programs have become a prevalent form of entertainment worldwide, which have a more far-reaching influence on people's lives than formerly was perceived. That movies made in the country are more preferable for people to movies made abroad is one of the most contentious issues. In this regard, some hold the notion that national movies are better means of entertainment for country residents. In contrast, some hold an alternative conviction and perspective that foreign movies and programs bring people more joy. To my best knowledge, people gravitate toward foreign countries' movies for several reasons that will be expounded in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, in countries with poor infrastructure for the development of art, as in movies or TV programs, the quality of the productions may be so low that would not fulfill the needs and desires of its people. To be more clear, in developing countries, in which the initial and primary concern of the government is to overcome economic and financial barriers, the importance of movies and Tv programs pales into significance, and less attention is paid to making quality work and lower, and in some occasions, no budget is allocated for making movies. As a result, the public audience's attention is shifted toward the existing products in the market, which provide the audience with entertainment. For example, a survey conducted by my university in my hometown revealed that in middle eastern countries, which are developing countries, people watch Western movies and programs 70% higher compared to those of their own country. This survey points to the poor quality of the countries' production as the main culprit of this phenomenon.

Furthermore, history has always shown that different nations are always fond of narrowing the gaps between each other and getting to know each other. One of the best means to bring different nations close is exchanging culture through the means of media, as in this case, TV programs and movies. In other words, movies and programs can be great cultural ambassadors. Hence, there is a substantial rise in the collaborative production of movies, meaning that artists from different countries come together and produce international movies. This can help countries exchange cultures and get to know each other better. Moreover, watching other countries' movies can familiarize people with the cultures and languages of other nations with the helping hand of cultural cues embedded in the movies. For instance, once I wanted to travel to Japan, and by watching some Japanese movies and programs, I was able to familiarize myself with Japanese customs and cultures and some useful daily slang and sentences to help conduct my business there. Had it not been for the movies, I would not be able to communicate efficiently with people during my trip.

To recapitulate, the paucity and dearth of quality TV programs and movies reinforce people's inclination and tendency toward foreign movies. Furthermore, watching other countries' productions can bring nations together via cultural exchange and help people to get a glimpse into the life of other nations. With all of these reasons being mentioned, who can ignore the role of foreign movies' role in people's lives?