Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Professional athletes, such as football and basketball players, do not deserve the high salaries that they are paid.

can you state the score range of the essay based on the toefl rules: Professional athletes are known to have a remarkable amount of income. That it's fair that these professional sportsmen receive such a huge amount of money has always been a contentious issue. In this regard, some hold the conviction that they deserve the money they gain. Nevertheless, some have an alternative perspective. As far as I'm concerned, the received stipend by athletes is well-deserved for myriad reasons that will be expounded and delved into in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, these athletes pave long routes to becoming professionals. They must start practicing and training from a young age and train for prolonged hours. They have to make many sacrifices, like giving up family and leisure time to be able to stay in the game and competitions. On the other hand, all common people see, is them playing some games in a league, which some of them don't even result in a win, and receive a considerable sum of money in exchange. This shallow vision and way of thinking of people inhibits them from seeing how much hard work and endeavor these professional players put in work for every single game. For instance, Ronaldo, the professional soccer player, who is also known for his sky-high wage, had a very tough childhood and teen years. He worked really hard to earn money for his family and practice football. However, few people are aware of these facts. Generally, according to the amount of hard work that athletes put in work, I believe the money gained is well-deserved.

Furthermore, the prime years of each professional athlete are limited, and they have to retire earlier compared to other conventional occupations. In addition, due to the nature of their work, they deal with substantial physical and mental work that can have dire consequences. For example, they get severe injuries during the games, which can affect their career path, or they undergo debilitating stress in tournaments, especially international ones. Because they have the burden of a nation's reputation on their shoulder. Hence, this money is both a kind of insurance for their future as they retire early, compensating for the harm done to their physical and mental health and providing them convenience in the later stages of their lives. Investigations have revealed that those athletes in the 80s and early 90s who received not so much money ended up having so much trouble later in life. Based on the statistics, %50 of them even ended up homeless. Since they were not provided with ample money and due to their poor health conditions, they could not engage in new occupations or even start a new business. Thus, considering all these issues, the substantial amount of these athletes' wages makes sense.

To recapitulate, due to all the hard work and sacrifices that professional athletes have to make, which are not conspicuous at the surface, and all those physical and mental injuries they suffer, they need to be assigned high salaries. To guarantee their future well-being and to compensate for all the harm done. I believe that the amount of money they receive is well deserved. Who can say otherwise with knowing all these facts about professional players' lives? Maybe making some documentaries based on these athletes' lives can help enlighten other people's conceptions of them.