Do you agree or disagree that professional athletes such as football and basketball players do not deserve the high salaries that they are paid?

No one can deny that sport is one of the essential elements of being healthy physically and mentally. Besides, athletes are the valuable asset of one nation. In this line of thought, there is a debate that whether they deserve to get high compensation. Some people believe that sports people should not be paid high wages, while others, myself included, stand opposite viewpoint and think that they must be paid high and I mentioned some reasons that are elaborated in the following essay.

To begin with, athletes make excellent role models, and their high salary is commensurate with their contribution to society's improvement. Specifically, sports personalities are the professional models for youngsters and kids especially to whom are in danger of many deviations in society. Undoubtedly, most of the young generation have tendencies to celebrities or sports figures; it is worthwhile that their role models to be healthy physically and mentally and lead the society to incline sport and health matters. In this regard, athletes absorb most of the social individuals as followers who may incline to delinquencies and crimes. Therefore, athletes in many aspects save society from many defeats and as a result, they deserve to get high wages due to this huge role and impact that they have in every community.

To add, sports personalities earn money for the whole society, generate remuneration, and deserve their huge salaries entirely. To be more specific, most of the athletes who take the lead in their fields such as football or volleyball bring about much money to the country. In fact, they cause many spectaculars to come into the stadium, and selling tickets and sports merchandise are the results of their achievement. Moreover, they bring many people to watch the sport events and follow their news in TV broadcasting or by participating in advertisements take astronomical money for companies. For example, Lionel Messi deserves a huge salary because he attracts many audiences to the stadium, guarantees a reliable source of income for his club. Therefore, all of these positive contributions justify his huge salary.

To recap on the mentioned reasons for this issue that whether athletes deserve huge remunerations or not, I believe that they are because of the fact that not only are they the professional role model for youngsters and encourage the society to be healthy mentally and physically while preventing of happening much crime, but also they bring about high income in many aspects for their club, commercials, and the whole country.