Do you agree or dsagree?

Parents should allow children to make their own choices rather than determine their children's future for them.

Raising children to face the myriad challenges of adulthood and surviving the hurdles set through life is one of the main concerns of all parents. That what is the most sensible course of action in raising responsible children has always been a contentious issue. Some people hold the notion that parents should intervene in their children's decisions because they possess the foresight of what works best for their children. Whereas some have an alternative perspective that parents should allow their children to make choices of their own. In this regard, I agree with the latter group for several reasons that will be delved into deeper in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, letting children decide independently enables them to enhance their analytical thinking and decision-making skills. Since children from a very young age are dependent on their caregivers for survival, they often feel helpless and frustrated. Hence, providing children with conditions that enable them to choose freely between different options helps them to gain control over their lives and feel less overwhelmed. Moreover, suppose this dependency process goes on for a prolonged period. In that case, children's independent decision-making ability can be affected to the point that they would not be able to choose between any options and constantly vacillate between possible choices and uncertainties. For example, studies by a university in my hometown have revealed that parents who preclude their children from making any measures and decisions to protect them hurt their children's mental development and sanity more than those parents who provide their children with opportunities to decide for their life. These dependent children always impede themselves from taking risks and expect the bare minimum, which is often determined by others for them through different stages of life. Moreover, the study indicated that these dependent children are less creative because they have been accustomed to others solving their problems, which is a serious flaw for adults.

Furthermore, practicing decision-making processes from a young age helps children to grow as responsible adults who can take and face the responsibility of their own decision, all of which can help them become beneficial members of society. Parents, by providing their children with a safe environment to decide, can enhance their sense of responsibility because children will grow to learn that no matter what the outcome of their decision is, they are the ones in charge and they are the ones who should face the consequences, no matter positive or negative. For example, one of my cousins was raised in a very dependent household, to the point that his parents protected him from the negative impacts of all of his mal deeds. They decided for him what to study, where to live, and even who to marry. Unfortunately, he could not lead a prosperous life because he could not make decisions of his own. Even the slightest inconvenience hit him hard, and he could not take responsibility for his decisions.

To recapitulate, for one to grow into a responsible adult who can make decisions independently and face the consequences of the decisions, one must be involved in the process of decision-making from the early stages of life. Had it not been for the support and instructions of our parents from the early stages, we could not have been able to make the most critical decisions of our lives. I believe it is best for the parents to provide a supportive environment for their children and to let them know that no matter what their children decide, their love for them is unconditional. Then, children will have enough self-esteem to take measures.