Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Being creative, rather than planning carefully, helps people come up with the best solution to a problem.

There exists a wide range of approaches to come up with solutions for different challenges and struggles. Developing good problem-solving and analytical thinking skills are of significant importance. That planning ahead and taking all the details into consideration or instead going with the flow and using creativity to find answers to problems has always been a contentious issue. Some people hold the conviction that in order to tackle any obstacle, one must devout time to plan everything; in contrast, others have an alternative notion and perspective that creativity can armor people with more robust solutions to problems. In this regard, I agree with the former group for several reasons that will be delved deeper in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, when people devout enough time to come up with solutions, they can investigate every nook and corner of the issue. Hence, they can foresee and predict possible outcomes of different scenarios and be prepared to cope with them in advance. On the other hand, when dealing with problems with creativity, people may encounter even new misfortunes and bad surprises, all of which can exacerbate the whole situation. For example, once, a company was dealing with employee attendance. Rather than taking some time and investigating the initial cause of this problem, the company just went with implementing and enforcing more strict rules regarding the employees' attendance, a solution which not only did not ameliorate the situation but also lowered the percentage of attendance even more. After that, when the company investigated the driving factors of their problem, they realized that the low attendence was due to the employees' poor health condition, which was associated with malnutrition. When the company provided its employees with better nutrition and healthcare facilities, the attendance rate mounted substantially.

Moreover, when people do not take their time to plan a coping strategy, they are more likely to end up in a worse situation which will need more resources, both financial and temporal resources, to compensate for the loss. On the contrary, when one has the time to analyze different facets of the solution and its expected impacts and results, one can have a better grip over the whole situation; thus, loss of resources can be avoided. A basic example can be repairing a leaking pipe in an old property. If the owner just tries to supplant the damaged pipe or adjacent parts, it can solve the problem temporarily. However, the wear and tear makes old buildings more prone to damage. It is obvious that a more comprehensive repair can preclude further damages and save the owners time and money in the long run.

To recapitulate, planning the solution carefully is a more sensible course of action since it prepares individuals for potential outcomes and reduces the chances of surprises and further failure. Furthermore, planning enables one to spend resources more wisely and impedes resource loss. An excellent example of this is how developed countries cope with the economic recession. Had it not been for careful planning, most countries would have drowned in the red ink and become bankrupt. Thus, who can undermine the power of planning?