Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Only movies that can teach us something about real life are worth watching.

With the transformation of people's lives from simpler forms into more intricate lifestyles, their entertainment form has also undergone dramatic changes. Formerly, recreational actvities comprised physicical activities or reading. However, due to advent and prevailence of social media and mass media, new forms of entertainment, including movies, have been introduced to people's lives. Some of these movies are considered edifying, which can convey great life lessons to people. On the other hand, other movies only have recreational values and do not get people involved on intellectual levels. That people should watch both of these movie types has always been a contentious issue. Some poepl hold the notion that only movies that are instuctive are worth watching. Whereas others have an alternative notion and believe that other fiction movies can be helpful for people, too. In this regard, I agree with the latter group for several reasons that will be delved more profoundly in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, people nowadays are leading a more hectic life, and they deal with pressure and debilitating stress on a daily basis, which cannot be avoided. Moreover, due to the packed schedule, often, people can devote minimal time to their recreation. For example, they cannot incorporate long vacations into their plans regularly, which can be regarded as precious opportunities to do away with stress and unwind. Hence, they need a shelter to flee away and revitalize, which is within their access. Non-instructive movies, especially in comedy genres, can help people to turn their mind off, even for a limited time, from the daily issues they deal with and find a chance to share a laugh or two with their family and friends. For instance, when I feel suffocated under the burden of life, I try to turn my mind off, even for an ephemeral time, by watching some episodes of well-known sit-come series, like Friends and Modern Family. Had it not been for these comedy series, I would have been buried under the burden of my daily schedule.

Furthermore, since people are dealing with social issues, depicting social or economic problems or struggles of individuals in their life can even have adverse impacts on people's mentality in the long run. It should be acknowledged that movies provide a good means of instructing and conveying morals; nevertheless, since people deal with these challenges constantly, their mental health can be significantly affected. In other words, being exposed to constant sorrow and hardships, even in a movie, can have detrimental impacts and cause mental breakdowns and existential crises. Because these edifying movies constantly remind people of society's realities. On the other hand, even comic movies can also have instructive value. These movies can illustrate that, for example, if friends work together can overcome problems, or deceptive acts can bring about failure. A study conducted by a university in my hometown has revealed that people who merely watch documentaries or social-based movies, basically edifying movies, are plagued by mental issues like depression.

To recapitulate, due to the recreational purposes of movies and their accessibility and affordability, non-instructive movies can be excellent means to do away with stress. Moreover, constant exposure to problems and taking no rest from real life can cause fatigue and exhaustion in the long run. It is fair to say that had it not been for the great comedies of Chaplin, people would not have been able to survive the harsh climate of industrialization.