Some people prefer to read the original book before they watch the movie, other prefer to watch the movie before reading the book. Which one do you prefer?

Nowadays, movies based on renowned books have become a common form of entertainment. That whether to read the book prior to watching the movie or not has become a controversial topic. Some people hold the notion that reading the book beforehand is preferable. Whereas others possess an alternative prospect. In this regard, I agree with the former group due to the reasons which are expounded in the following paragraphs.

To commence with, most of these book-based movies are summaries of the books. In other words, they do not comprise all the details, events, courses of action, and sometimes characteristics of the book due to several reasons like time and budget restrictions. At best, these movies endeavor to depict some important adventures and events of the book. Hence, one cannot get the full experience by solely depending on the film. Moreover, this can also lead to misconstruing the storyline. For example, once I watched a well-known movie, "the fault in our stars," before reading the book. It was a well-structured movie; however, it lacked some important dialogues and events, leaving me with questions at the end of the movie. On the other hand, when I read the book, I got a better grasp of the storyline and figured out how little of the story was illustrated in the movie.

Furthermore, while reading the book, one typically portrays what is written in their mind by the use of a powerful tool called imagination. While reading a book, you can visualize how the characters seem and how they look in your mind, along with many other details. Improving the sense of imagination can be of good hand in many real-life situations. For instance, it can help people improve their problem-solving skills or help run risk reduction measures since they can imagine and come up with alternative potential scenarios and ways to avoid or overcome them in advance. On the other hand, when the movie is watched beforehand reading the book, the sense of imagination is abstained from people, and most people remain myopic and pedestrian viewers. To clarify things, I want to refer to the results of a recent study on students' problem-solving skills. In this study, two groups of students, one who better enjoyed reading books and novels and others who preferred watching movies and video games, were asked to come up with solutions for some made-up scenarios. The results indicated that the students bound to reading more books were more successful in giving reasonable solutions compared to the latter group.

To recapitulate all, on the issue of whether to read the book before watching the book-based movie or vice versa, I firmly stand with reading the book first for two obvious reasons. First, movies are only a fraction of a whole and do not guarantee the whole experience of the story. Second, watching the movie before reading the book prohibits the chance of imagination, and the viewer is somehow spoonfed. I mean, who can deny the joy of going through the pages of a book and building up a whole kingdom and its inhabitants in your mind?