Nowadays, many movies or films are based on books. Some people prefer to read the original book before they watch the movie, other prefer to watch the movie before reading the book. Which one do you prefer?

An increasing number of film directors begin to realize that, it’s the best way to shoot a movie based on an original book, in order to make a huge box-office success. When tons of book-based films come into business, a question is raised to audience that whether they should read the original books first or watch the movies ahead? From my own perspective, I prefer to read the original book in the first place.

Before we actually getting down to business, I concede that watching the movies first provides a stronger and fresher blast for our sensory systems. After all, the sensory blast won’t last too long because there are so many images of bursting visual sense nowadays and the memory of the movie can be submerged by these analogs.

First, reading a book is actually an exercise for our imagination ability of our brains. Experiment shows that human brains are put to maximum use when we demonstrate an active participation when reading a new book, which means if we take full advantage of our imagination ability to comprehend a book, our brains can be benefited and possess a better visual ability. By contrast, watching the film in the first place will limit our imagination even interfere with the coming reading process. For instance, I had watched the movie Fight Club before I came up to its original book. With all due respect, I do agree that the movie is a masterpiece and Edward Norton and Brad Pitt performed marvelously, but I was still trapped by the movie’s scenes and the handsome “haunted” appearance of Brad Pitt, so that my imaginative organ disabled and I could not even form my own perspective about the book, which was a pity. So, if people are craved for first-hand ideas and improvement of imaginative ability, they should enjoy the book first.

Secondly, reading original books at the beginning enables readers to comprehend the adaptions objectively. Traditionally, original books are more abundant in plots and descriptions than their film adaptions. Movie adaptions are subject to time, so the playwrights will rearrange the plots or cut off some scenes which are actually tiny indicators of the character’s emotions or essential pushes to the plots’ progression. Taking my experience into consideration, the original book Angels And Demons explains why the pope servants schemes to blow Jerusalem away and the trauma he had in his childhood, while the movie adaptions ignore this detail. For me, the former reading allows me to notice this detrimental flaw in this movie, while other audience who hadn’t read the origin before might be perplexed or even have a bad impression on the movie and the original book. All in all, it’s better for the people who want to know every details and have objective opinions about adaption movies to read the original books first.

Due to the analysis above, I believe it’s rational for people read original books before watching their adaption films, in order to develop a better ability of imagination and have an objective opinion about the movies.