A company wants to use money to help employees

work better. One way is to improve the technology

equipment (computers, printers) used by employees

and improve efficiency. Another way is to redesign the

space to make the working environment more

comfortable and have more meeting rooms for

discussion. Which way do you recommend? Why?

It is crucially important for companies to reinvest the money in their jobs and employees to enhance the efficiency among workforce resulting in more profits for the company’s owners. In this regard, using money to purchase more technological equipment, supported by some people, would increase efficiency. Others, including me, hold the view that employees would benefit more by redesigning the workplace. Three are two main advantages which I will delve into in the following paragraphs.

To begin with, if the workers find the work environment as a place where they feel ease, they would work better. To clarify, there would not be any discomfortable or irritation around the place they work. As a result, they feel more closeness to the work environment, consequently, the efficiency would improve. In an experiment set out by one of the famous institute in Iran, as an example, two groups of workers were chosen to work in two different places. One place was not as convenient as the other one. The worker felt not great during completing the tasks. The other one, on the other hand, had places to rest, moreover, the work environment was spacious enough that workers did implement the projects with no barriers. The results were astonishing. The workers in the well-designed workplace did complete the task with fewer mistakes in less time, compared to the group that was absolutely uncomfortable performing the task. The experiments clearly show that redesigning the environment of the place, people work has really positive impacts on their psychological and better financial outcomes for the companies’ owners.

Second, meeting rooms or in some cases, resting rooms, provide workers the time to discuss their problems during the job. This would contribute to boosting the experience, they receive from their employees. This occurs a lot, especially for a newcomer, less experienced workers. What if there were not such places to share their faults with experienced workers, they would not be able correct their faults, so the efficiency, finally the company’s profit would diminish. It makes a team spirit, benefiting both workers and the companies.

To sum up, redesigning the environment, people work there, not only augments the efficient outcomes, it would assist the workers to increase their knowledge by discussing with experience, which helps them to be more prepared, resulting in better financial for the owner of the companies.