Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important

Mass media and the internet has heavily influenced today's population. Our lives became unimaginable without it. With myriad of information available, it is hard to focus on just one thing but people make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information for important information.

During the archaic times, people had limited resources and hence they ferreted through those resources for the required knowledge. But today, people have access to amply information. It is hard to go through every resource available to us in current times. So, people often sort out important information from the humongous amounts of information. This enables them to select from the best and authentic ones out of the myriad information available and hence, they can focus only on the significant information.

The information available on the mass media and internet is of wider scope which means that earlier people aimed to gain information on the fields or topics that they are aware of, but now a days people are presented with so many opportunities to learn about many new things that they have never heard of. People are provided with many opportunities where they can explore any field. Hence, mass media and internet has caused people's attention to increase by providing them interesting learning opportunities.

The humongous amount of information can sometimes be a boon and sometimes bane. While, people are provided with great opportunities to explore many new things, it also possess some distractions for people. People may explore many different things at the same time and there by hinder the overall learning process. Hence, it may sometimes not be beneficial for the fickle minded.

Hence, the mass media and the internet have caused people's attention spans to get shorter but nevertheless, people make up for it by sorting through large quantities of information and find out what's important.