Mass media and the internet have caused people s attention spans to get shorter However the overall effect has been positive while people are less able to focus on one thing they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quan

Internet and mass media is undoubtedly the boon to our generation with playing a major role in bringing the world closer. As suggested in the claim, I mostly agree with the author about the positive effect brought by internet and mass media for two reasons. However, I do concede that even though internet has overwhelmed us with the ample of opportunities on the web, it has significantly affected our efficiency to absorb that content with the desired attention.

First of all, internet and mass media have opened plethora of opportunities for people to enhance their abilities and to make the best use of the data available to them. With the amount of information that is accessible to anyone, one can develop skills which can help them make a living out of it. With online courses, students in remote areas can learn from teachers across the globe. For example, a student situated in a remote village in India, only with the help of internet can attend an online course about a pragramming language like Java from a tutor in a univeristy at California. People get more exposure to a variety of resources which allows them to choose the method of learning most suitable to them. They gain knowledge that enhances their skills, widens their opinions and makes them a more confident individual.

Secondly, with the boom of internet, people have now begun to realise the power of data that is the importance of information. With the ability to store and process large quantities of data obtained from the interent efficiently, new fields in computer science like data science, machine learning and artificial intelligence have emerged. For instance, understanding what kind of content the user consumes, the advertisements shown to that user are filtered in a way that the most relevant advertisements reach that particualr user. In addition to these, even the recommendations which users get of Youtube and other OTT platforms are according to genre they are most likely to watch, suggestions being tailored personally to suit their choices.

However, interent has also impacted the way we respond to the ample amout of information thrown at us. The attention span of average individual has decreased because of having so many options. There is no denying in the fact that now humans cannot go back to doing only one single task at a time. Internet has provided many opportunities and it depends on us how we use it to our advantage or to our disadvantage.