Mass media and the internet have caused people’s attention spans to get shorter. However, the overall effect has been positive: while people are less able to focus on one thing, they more than make up for it with an enhanced ability to sort through large quantities of information and find what’s important.

Speaker claims that mass media and internet providence are responsible for the reduction of people's attention span. And also states this as a positive spin as people are now able to sort more data and could analyze the trivial and important ones. The fact that people are transforming as choosy, and analyzing more data is acceptable, but the spin on the claim used by the speaker is unreasonable.

Mass media and social media (internet services) have increased the surplus number of options to pursue and to reach the apex in the field chosen. Earlier many students were forced to grow up in accordance with their parents and relatives, yet there were neither contentious activities nor any chance of disobedience. My insinuation here is not to behave unscrupulously, but a hint of individuality, behaving according to own wish or wants. There was no scope of own wish mostly because of lack of knowledge or data, though in surroundings everyone would be educated and build up a career in certain particular fields, so that would be followed. Now, there is so much data available on the internet, that one can complete studies, and courses, enhance their skills, earn money, etc with the help of the internet and social media. The exchange of ideas increases perspectives which results in development and individuality.

Here speaker states the above as a reduction in people's attention span, it gets shorter in some scenarios because people, now, realized that they are no longer interested in that kind of issue or task. Yet, a few disadvantages can be inferred with the help of emotion behind the statement made by the speaker, i.e., many people lost themselves in the virtual world and lost cognizance and few also have found many routes as an evasion instead of hard work. For example, people who got lost in creating meaningless content on social media got affected by many sorts of mental illnesses, and many parsimonious or greedy people have gone on a path to perform online money stealing.

In sum, I persuade the speaker to mention all effects for a conclusion, especially when the spin on the conclusion is indicating otherwise. On the brighter side, I undeniably concede with the reasoning and perseverance behind it. And as many people said, data improves knowledge which will help in the advancement of any organization.