The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company According to recent report from our marketing department during the past year fewer people attended super screen produced movies than in any othe

In the given memo, the advertising director concludes that greater share of the

budget must be allocated for reaching the prospective audience through advertising.

However, before reaching this conclusion, with many unwarranted assumptions,

viability of this solution must be evaluated by answering following two questions.

Was the quality of film the reason for fewer people attending Super Screen-

produced movies? This might not be the only reason why people showed up in less

numbers to watch movie produced by a certain company. In the past year, there

might be new competitors who launched more appealing movies and audience

preferred watching those movies over the ones produced by Super Screen. Another

possibility can be starcast of the films was not popular enough which led to lesser

viewers showing up for their films. There are multiple movies screened at the same

time and majority of audience might be pulled by another film which has a superior

starcast or better direction. If any of the above mentioned scenarios have merit, the

conclusion reached by the adverising director is flawed.

Were positive movie reviews enough to justify the quality of the films? The

director's stance on the quality of the movies is based on the assumption that higher

percentage of reviewers gave positive reviews. But given the movie was watched

by fewer people, more evidence needs to be provided on the number of reviewers.

Only three movie reviewers were given the opportunity to review and their views

on the film might not align with the majority of the audience. Even if movie

reviewers gave geniunely positive reviews, the audience might not have the same

taste or liking for certain genre which will still be the case if the films are more

advertised. If any of this is true, the director's argurment does not hold water.

To conclude, their might be a possibility that advertising of the movies was not

sufficient in the past year. However, reaching the conclusion that it is the only

factor for the low viewership is not reasonable. In order to evaluate the

recommendation the above mentioned questions need to be answered with more

evidence, perhaps in the form of a systematic research study.