The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the super screen movie production company.

" According to recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended super screen - produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific super screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super screen should therefore allocate a greater share of budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

As cited from the memo of advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company, the advertiser concludes that the reason for the lower attendance in movies is not the quality of movie rather the lack of public's awareness and thus recommends that a large chunk of budget should be allocated in advertising section to reach a greater amount of public. The statement by the advertising director is bvased on a series of unwarranted assumptions and lack of exhaustive research and thus a number of questions need to be answered prior to the execution of his recommendation in the company.

The advertisng director (ad-director) of the company is top quick to assume the credibility of the report of marketing department without its complete understanding. The ad-director is not aware about what were the reasons other than lack of public awareness in the decrease in number of movie watchers. Perhaps, the covid situation might be the reason for the low attendance or there might be an decrease in the customers as a whole in movie sector due to other socio-economic reasons. Thus if the reason behind the decrease is as mentioned above then the directors recommendation would be invalid.

The ad-director presumes that the number of positive reviews was significant enough to justify the reason behind the low attandance. But to make a decision regarding that, the fact about that is to be known, such as What percentage of the movie total movie shown were reviewed by movie reviewers and further what number of movies were reviewed positively? Perhaps there might be a case that only about 20-25 percent of the moviews were reviewed positively by reviewers. Thus to get a clear picture of the scenario company needs to know that Whether the reviewers biased in reviewing the movies of the company. Perhaps the movie reviewers were paid to review positively thus would not assess the actual quality of movie.

The ad-director should also find about the consumer behavior and their choices in the movie genre. Perhaps the audience are attracted to movies of other genre than which are produced by the Super Screen company. Furthermore, perhaps the competiors are employing a number of other tactic to patronize customers to them. Perhaps, they are providing gift hampers and also the audio/ video quality excels than super screen company thus decreasing the customers.

In conclusion, before putting the recommendation of the ad-director in action, a lot of questions mentioned above are need to be answered and evaluated in order to increase the number of customers. The real problems need to be identified by the company to excel.