The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period , most of the complaint received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Citing the memorandum from the business manager of the television station : The devotion of the more time to the national news decreasing the time for weather and local news has lead to the losing of the advertising revenues thus to increase the viewers and avoid losing advertisement revenues the time is to be restored to its formel level. This argument as a whole is based on various unwarranted assumptions without proper research and evaluation of conditions prevailed. The argument is flawed due to the following reasons.

Firstly, The Business manager is too quick to assume that the less devotion of the time to weather and local news has decreased the advertising contracts. But there might be the case that in this advanced technology and digital marking days the local businesses had shifted their marketing campaign to other forms of advertising like social media marketing, brand ambassador advertising, social cause campaigning e.t.c. Perhaps the businesses might feel that the television ads cost a fortune and has a lesser impact than other forms of advertisement. If any of this is true the the argument doesn't hold water.

Secondly, the business manager presumes that the less time to weather and local news led to the cancelling of the advertising contracts with them. Perhaps the other competitors have lured the businesses by providing attractive plans for the televison advertisement. Perhaps the other television channnels have better reach and increasing viewership and also cost efficient. If any of this is correct, the argument fails to stand a chance.

Lastly, the business manager assumes that the trend of last year in the local level would also hold true for this year. Perhaps last year the businesses were going into loss thus withdrawing their advertisng contracts. Perhaps the new law in the state has affected the business policy of the companies and thus they were shifting leading to less advertisement contracts. If these assumptions are right, the argument doesn't stand a chance at all.

In conclusion, the argument that The restoring the time alloted to the national news and local news to its former level would attract more viewers and thus avoid losing the advertising revenues is flawed and based on many unwarranted assumptions like trend of last year would still hold true now, the other reasons behind the cancelled contracts like other form of advertisement and competitors strategy of market.