The following appeared as part of an article in a business magazine.

"A recent study rating 300 male and female Mentian advertising executives according to the average number of hours they sleep per night showed an association between the amount of sleep the executives need and the success of their firms. Of the advertising firms studied, those whose executives reported needing no more than 6 hours of sleep per night had higher profit margins and faster growth. These results suggest that if a business wants to prosper, it should hire only people who need less than 6 hours of sleep per night."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

As stated in the article of a business magazine, the author concludes that if a business wants to taste success it should strictly hire only the people needing less than six hours of sleep per night.

However, he does not have specific evidence and is assuming the conclusion on the basis of many unstated assumptions. The conclusion drawn by the author can be refuted by the help of the following three paragraphs.

Firstly, the author is too quick to assume that the study comprising the reporting of 300 advertising executives would also apply to the general posts of the company. For instance, perhaps the janitor of the business company need not have this quality to make a business prosper . Perhaps, the programmers need to have a sound long sleep to increase their creativity and productivity to excel. If either of this is true, the authors conclusion would not hold water.

Secondly, the author presumes that the executives reported to the study honestly and the data provided by them is credible. For example, perhaps the executives does not have proper devices to record their exact hours of sleeping time and thus data provided by them are tentative. Similarly, perhaps the study was conducted not in incognito so that their sleep time data may be influenced by different judgemental factors which dents the quality of data recorded. If either of this is right, the authors assertion is invalid.

Lastly, the author of the magazine generalizes that the sleep serves as the only criteria or quality of a personnel to make a business successful. For instance, the prosperity of a particular business might be totally based on the hard and focused work of their employee during work time and not the hour of sleep. Perhaps, the expertise and background experience of the employee is the main factor behind success of a company. If any of this is true, the authors suggestion is unwarranted.

In conclusion, the argument, presented by the authors is based on different unwarranted assumptions, is flawed as it stands. The authors conclusion : For a business to prosper, the people hired should exhibit the trait of sleeping less than 6 hours is based on the unwarranted assumptions like sleep as the only criteria t judge employees, the data of the report is credible and the generalization of the study data serves without evidences.