The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

"Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

Citing the memorandum from the business manager of a television station : In order to increase viewers to the news program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, the station should expand their weather and local news coverage on all of their news program. This argument as it stands now is dubious as it is based on several unwarranted assumptions, due to lack of exhaustive research and facts, discussed in the latter paragraphs.

Firstly, the business manager is too quick to assume that the decrease in time for weather and local news increasing the time to national news is the only reason why the advertising contracts are being cancelled. Perhaps the businesses are getting better quality advertising and good financial deal at other television station. The case might also be that the businesses are shifting their advertising campaign to other mass media like Internet, social service camps, celebrity endorsements etc Thus if any of this is true, then the contention that increasing the time to weather and local news would stop the losing of advertising revenues would not be valid.

Secondly, the manager claims that there were a lot of complaints from the viewers concerned with the coverage of weather and local news. Perhaps the complaints were done by the competitors as to create a negative impact on the stations decision and revenue. Further it might be the case that the number of complaints might not be significant enough to be requiring exigency as thus the expanding of coverage of weather and local news would not be fruitful for the station.

Lastly, the business manager presumes that the decrease in time devoted to weather news and local news is the only reason behind the complaints, decreasing in the viewership and cancelling of the advertisement camps. But by exhaustive research a lot of reasons would come to surface. For instance, perhaps the viewers are decreasing due to the lessening of the audio and video quality of the station.

In conclusion, the managers argument is invalid at best and specious at worst due to the unstated assumptions mentioned in former paragraphs. Thus to make this statement warranted further eviden