Teacher s salary should be based on the academic performance of their students

Art is subjective. Art has no rules or definitions that is follows. Interpretation of art may vary from person to person. I would like to mostly disagree with the prompt that for gaining the credit it deserves the art must be comprehensible to 'most' people for the following two reasons.

Something that is understandable to most people is uncommon. In today's everchanging society a film or novel that is not obscure to majority of its audience is highly unlikely. The culture and understanding of people of each region differ widely. With globalisation art is not only restricted within boundaries of a community, state or a country. There can be different perspectives to the same piece of art as well and one cannot say whether any indvidual is wrong or right. For instance, there was always ambiguity about the Monalisa's painting by Leonardo Da Vinci. Some scholars and experts have various understandings about what the art tries to convey where as most of the other common people are just able to see it as a painting. This fact cannot take away the credit from the painting that is deserves.

Merit of art will be given on the basis of the idea and quality of art. Even if incomprehensible to some or many people, it does not neccessarily mean a film or poem does not deserve appreciation. A poem or a novel written by literary authors often use rich language with a finess in their way of producing their art. This details while appreciated by the critics and scholars will remain opaque to majority of common people.

If the art is pellucid it will definitely gain more support and approval from the people. Nontheless, appraisal from many cannot be treated as the main criteria for the art's merit. Merit of the art will be decided by the people, but one cannot guarantee that 'most' people will have the capabilities of admiring the sheer beauty of theatre or literature. In my opinion art is best judged by the esoterics who has the profundity to absorb the story artist is trying to convey.