The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.

The memorandum stated in the given passage states that a certain television station has changed its schedule to make room for more international news by cutting short weather and local news but due to the reasons stated in the passage they reverted this change. Though this seems to be the right step to take, there are certain things that are left uncertain like, the time period for which this change was kept and the strategy opted by the station for the publicity of this change in schedule, the revenue after the change of schedule vs the revenue before, the ratings the channel received during this period.

The revenue generated during this period is significant as if the revenue generated after devoting increased time to national news is greater than that of before, this change can be auspicious for the television station as for a business, it is money they earned that acts as a success factor. So, the complaints by the viewers and local advertisers become insignificant in this case. Moreover if the revenue increases by more percentage than that they make from the local advertisers then the whole purpose of cancelling this time allotment for national news becomes non-vital.

The ratings the channel received during this period is also a point to consider as if there is an increase in the ratings then the television station might eventually attract the national advertisers not just local ones and the outreach of the show may get wider. This would be more beneficial for the station.

The time period for which this change in schedule was kept also matters as it is time consuming for something to get national recognition, it is also not certain if this change has been publicised so as for television viewers other than the regular ones to be aware of this change in schedule. This is vital to the succcess of their new program the ratings wont increase unless the people are aware of it, with more publicity the program will get viewers from wider demographic.

Hence, the following points need to be elucidated to make the decision taken by the television station to be more convincing.