A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

It is stated in the passage that a pet food company had to recall some of their products because of the repercussions of their food on some of the pets.

Assuming that the pet company had recalled the pet food from the various locations that this complaint has been received, there is a possibility of some hidden element present in the food that is not detectable in the standard tests that this food company uses. If that is so, this pet food will have to undergo rigorous screening until they find out what the element is, that is causing such reactions in the pets and review the manufacturing process as well. If anything like this proven to be true, the company will face a huge loss, both financially and reputation wise and if the company just recalls the food from one location then probably the pet food is not the cause of such reactions of pets, it could be some demographic reason or water in that area etc.

If the recall is done by internal sources of the company, there is a chance that they are hiding some fraudulent substance in the ingredients from the consumers in order to protect the reputation of their firm, if this is proven to be true, the company may be seized by the government for committing fraud and even if the repercussions of this are not that worse, it would be difficult for the company to regain the trust of their consumers.

Another uncertainty about the given passage is that it is not explicitly mentioned is whether the guidelines followed by the pet food company to cross check the validity of chemicals used in their food, deprecated or new. If the guidelines followed were deprecated, there is a chance that one of the chemicals, which was thought to be innocuous before has been found out to be a harmful one after some research. Hence, the version of guidelines used has to be rechecked too. The company would face a huge trouble in this case too.

Hence, if the complaints received by the company are from one location then the company may not be at fault but if it is the other way around then it looks like this pet food company would face some repercussions.