A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation

The given argument is completely obfuscated with respect to the information that it tries to depict. It does not use any numbers or percentages for complaints or customers. At last, it tries to make irrelevant judgement just on the basis of an approval and without finding out other causes and their effects.

The first line of the argument specifies that pet food company recalled its products based on complaints received. It fails to mention number of complaints versus number of customers and even doesn't provide any reports based on the same. It might be possible that same customer might have complained multiple times for multiple problems. Hence, a clear insight is required for the company to recall such a huge number of pet food and based on such insights, logical report is required. Also, it might be possible that food consumed by the pets might have older medical conditions that were gone missing or might have been allergic to specific food ingredients previously unknown by the owners.

Next line specifies that food company testified samples of the given product. This also fails to specify the reports of the sample in detail. It can be the case that, food samples tested by the company were the ones which are different from the products sold to the customers. Hence, a clear report on chemicals and ingredients must be made available to the customers seeking problem with the same.

The given statement that ingredients had no problem with them might be completely right, but we can't be completely dependent on just the reports. There might be multiple factors which might lead to adulteration of the given product. In some cases, it might be the retailers, to whom, the given company delivers its products to be sold locally. Hence, a further investigation for such a case might be useful to validate the given cause and find an efficient solution.

The last line specifies that as test samples did not indicate any issues with it, the company won't devote any further resources to investigation and might continue to sell the existing product. This might be a completely vague conclusion which might not only hamper the company's branding but might also cause a loss of revenue for it. A completely root cause investigation is required, and until a clear solution is not available, the company must continue its investigation. Hence, a root cause and a proper solution is required to validate the given argument as true.