'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

Memorandum from a business manager of the late night televesion staion says devoting more time to national news rather than weather updates has sharpely resulted in a sense of dejection and abstinence in the viewership that has ultimately given rise to increased customer compliants.

For a televesion station to run its business successfuly, various factors of the audience play role in deciding the vieweship numbers. To sustain the business, a television manager must understand the pulse of the audience , weekly, through TRP (Television reporting performane). These reports aptly gain and provide insights about the mood and interests of the audience in a more subtle way. In case of late night news programs, audience expect breif updates of each incident that would have happened in the course of a day where trend of the day or mostly, for a period of a week decides the tolerance levels of the audience. Parochial focus on weather updates alone, by the televesion news program, seems myopic and wrongul at various levels.

For example, at the times of elections in a region, audience expect news mainly focussed on politics, ratrher than weather forecast. This is natural and a television business firm, if pudent, must adapt as accordingly to the taste of the spectator. To quote one more, during a popular world cup season or even any olympic event, audience expect the programs to accomodate sports news a lion share in the stipulated time. Similarly, this television program could have fixed the table of contents at the time of a turbulent or catstrophic waether conditions where audience would very well expect more of a weather updates.

However, nature and its climatic conditions do form an integral part of the human society and frequent updates of the same is an eternal necessity for an individual. To an extent business manager could be right and may have to increase the time slot for weather updates.

But, nonetheless, holistically, audience deal more with germane and concurrent things in a mundane life. Late night television programs should be quite adaptive and sensational which serve as a daily dose of entertaiment and knowledge for the viewers to remain competative and be aware of the surroundings in a more efficient way as most of the indiviuduals form a part of working class of the society.