"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

o cater the surge in the demand of artisan coffee lovers, Apex Coporation plans to grab the market with its new line of product 'Gourmet Select'.

Apex, however plans to release the juvenile product into the major supermarkets where there exists a teem of premium artisan coffee brands. Such a move, likely appears to fail in many ways. People often visiting the supermarkets trust on the established brands and are less likely to try a new product. This is because, there is exists a tendency of inherent inertia among the consumers who are generally apprehensive about the new products as many amongst them have bad efficacy in appeasing the customers taste and the demand. Also many turn out to be fake and futile to serve the basic needs of the customers. Taking the example of Nycil talcum powder, Nycil group was well operating it business with the existing 'Cool Talc' product. As the summers were approaching, the firm sensing the demand tried to instill the product into the existing market with the same stategy.

However, this turned out to be a disaster and the product utterly failed to gain any momentum because of the very same inertia factor. One has to resort to impress the consumer by well explaining the product with the sense of human touch. It is epigrammatic to say though, one always has to play the customer but not the product to be sold. With this basis, one can suddenly jump into conclusion resorting for cheap and decietful advertisement campains that usually revolve in televisions and radios and at time even at the major food chains. Gone are the days where consumer believes on the fanciful music and video compilations of the new product. No matter how attractive and raffish is the advertisement, people rely on the careful analysis and features of the product which can be well explained by an individual who is responsible for the sales.

Nevertheless, you never know what happens with the mood and the trend of the customer and suddenly out of no where, the product can become a huge hit and gain an impulsive momentum similar to the 'Turbo charger' by Motorola that happened last year where every pundit predicted its downfall.

Considering the germane issues and the relevent scenarios of the consumer and product relationship, it is advisory for Apex Corporation to not to blindly follow the strategy proposed for 'Gourmet Select' and hence premeditate in a better and efficient way.