The following was presented as part of a business plan by Apex Corporation.

"To answer the increased demand for artisan coffee, Apex Corporation is releasing a new line of coffee, "Gourmet Select." Apex Corporation will first introduce the coffee into major supermarkets, where it hopes word-of-mouth advertising will sustain sales. After a few months Apex Corp. will run an advertising campaign aimed at television and radio while simultaneously releasing the brand to several major chain restaurants. Based on this strategy, Apex Corporation hopes to make "Gourmet Select" one of the top sellers in the coffee market."

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The following argument is not entirely convincing as it heavily relies upon weak assumptions. Primarily, the argument assumes that Apex Corporation will see its recently launched product, Gourmet Select, as one of the top sellers in the coffee market, with the mentioned evidences supporting this claim, the plausibilty is indeed questionable.

According to the argument, Gourmet Select is expected to be one of the top sellers. The author backs this up with rigorous advertising. The success of the advertising is not mentioned, thus rendering the conclusion, nothing but a speculation. Apex Corp. like any firm, may opt to rely on traditional advertisment such as word of mouth, Radio and TV as channels of advertising; the success of this though is dependant certain factors. For instance, digital marketing may be preferred in Apex Corp's location compared to these traditional methods. If proven, this will inevitably undermine the assumption that the their advertising startegy will be successful.

Further, the business plan heavily relies heavily on adverstising as the key to success rather than the product itself. Value is sought after by consmers as such the great advertisng strategy is not sufficient to ensure that clients will purchase the product regularly. Given that the product has not been mentioned, the product may be great standards, if so, it may emerge a top seller as speculated validating the claims in the argument. On the contary, if the product is proved to be substandard, it is expected to fail terribly leading to great losses to Apex Corp; should this be the case, the argument will prove unwarranted.

In conlusion, the claims in the argument do not guarantee the success of Gourmet Select. The author should consider backing these claims with facts and more information so as to ascertain their position.