The following argument was made in a newspaper editorial:

“The autonomy of any country is based on the strength of its borders; if the number of illegal immigrants entering a country cannot be checked, both its economy and national identity are endangered. Because illegal immigrants pose such threats, every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin.”

The following argument is rife with holes and leaves many questions unanswered. Primarily, the validity of the conclusion that every effort must be made to return them to their country of origin entirely depends on the scope of the assumptions and their plausibility.

The argument suggests that illegal immigrants undermie the autonomy of a nation, while this may be true, the extent is not certain. Importantly, the reason of these immigrants moving in illegally is not mentioned in the argument. They could be refuges, and if so, the country has a humanitarian responsibility to protect and restore the dignity of these individuals. In that respect, the conclusion that immigrants should be returned to their countries may be an inhumane act, violating many human rights. On the other hand, the illegal immigrants may move in to these nations as spies or even terrorists. Inevitably, this undermines the security and the autonomy of the nation, the government shpould then be vigilant and look out for such figitives in their nation. Should this be proved, then argument would hold true and the suggestion that tthe aliens be deported be ideal.

The argument relies on the assumption that the country will be disadvantaged economically by the illegal immigrants, the extent of this is however not mention. The country may have cetralised systems where illegal immigrants may not access medical care, schools among other essential social amenities. If so, then this assumption may prove unwarranted. On the contrary, the country may be primite in its systems such that aliens are priviledged to services and even employement, in that case then the assumption of this argument will indeed be validated.

The author of this argument also ascertains that every effort should be made to deport the immigrants. If the immigrants took a desperate journey to the country so as to escape civil war, then deprotation would be harsh. Proven, the country may lose its autonomy as sanctions may be placed on them by the international community. If such laws are in place, then the argument's recommendation may be misleading and contradictory.

The assumption that national identity will be endangered is not cogent. How will this happen? If the nation is sovereign, the immigrants, being illegal, have miniscule effect on the country's identity. If anything, these illegal immigrant may live in fear of their fate and hope not to be discorvered. If thsi is the case then, the argument is unwarrented.

In conclusiThe author of the argument should provide more insigh and discuss in length the context and scope of the assumptions and their implications on the country. Without which, the argument is inadequate in providing neccessary information for informed jugdment.