Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

he statement, the past is of miniscule importance to the current positions of leadership, is prone to causing debate o the basis of its validity. Primarily, benevolent leaders seek to ensure the success of the institution of which they lead. In so doing, they will not only rely on their insights in strategy formulation and execution, but also use the past to inform their decisions. In that respect, the statement is not entirely cogent, and for ereasons this essay seeks to explore.

The history of any institution is key and cannot be disregarded in its endeavors whatsoever. Leaders, given the powers bestowed upon them, have the ability to change the insititution for the better, or in some cases for worse. Change can only be realized if the past is put into perspective; one can only change a circumstance that they have evaluated and internalized. For example, the CEOs of profitable firms will always have to ensure they maintain their profitability. The can only do this if the consider their past performance.

Building on the above point, monitiring and evaluation, is soley founded on refering to the past, so as to determine the futures fate. In the world today, eminent firms have heavily invested on Monitoring and evaluation of their strategies, research so as to inform the germane resolutions. This, they have managed to flourish in their respective sectors.

In essence, the past serves an appraisal of the leader themselve and other stakeholder. In companies, aCEO can only be regarded as successful if they have outdone the past performances for the better. Therfore, records of the past are important as they serve a major role, rendering the statement invalid.

In addition, in many cases, leaders have had to refer to the past so as to gain insight on certain matters. For instance, if theres an unusual occurence, it is only prudent to inquire the past. This way, a solution, from the pastv may be taken into account considering its efficiency and effectiveness.

I

Leaders are key determinants of the success or failure of any institution. In this respect, having explored the essence of the past, only the prudent leaders will consider the past and appropriately corporate it in their leadership. However, the over relience of the past may impair preclude a leaders success