Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and

Leaders are responsible for well being of group they are leading. Hence, it is imperative that they must be able to take sagacious decisions which will ultimately be beneficial to all. In order to take such decision, leader shall make use of all knowledge possible, past is one of the such resources , he shall seek to ponder. Hence, I strongly disagree with the claim that understanding past is of little importance to leader.

To begin with, past makes us cognizant of mistakes committed before and hence helps us to avoid them. For example, In 1857, In India, different states declared freedom movements against British kingdom who was ruling Indian at that time but as there was no coordination and unity whatsoever behind these efforts , British were easily able to mitigate those freedom struggles. Hence, British were able to continue their rule for another 100 years over India. However, during 1947, Leaders such as Mahatma Gandhi and Mr. Nehru were aware of past mistake of 1857 and hence they made sure that there is unity and coordination between all freedom struggles across country. Due to this unwavering and united struggle from Indians, British emperor had to declare India free. Hence, it is quite patent from this example that the reflection on past can help us to a great extent.

Secondly, It is more important to understand and act on past rather than just being aware of the same. This means leader must not only be aware of the past but he should make sure that the mistakes done in the past should not be repeated otherwise this whole knowing past thing is of no importance. For example, In India, there are major two political parties. One of them won consecutive two terms 20 years back in past elections. However, that party grew complacent and did not pay attention to people's complaints about corruption. This resulted in party's collapse in next election. However newly elected party followed the same pattern and did not pay hid to people's complaint once they were elected. Ultimately in next election populace rejected both old parties and preferred totally new party with young leaders. Had party B learned lesson from party A's situation, they would have been far better position in this election as well. Hence, we conclude that it is important to act on past as well.

However some people may argue that knowing past has little bearing on future. Though this statement may appear convincing in some field such as technology in which past is of little importance due to continuous advancement. For example, the techniques used by past leaders, for say spying over enemy nation are of no pragmatic use today. Today's investigation department are far more superior and advanced as compared to past .Hence, it is ill-behoove of today's government to reply on past methods. However, this claim has zero merit in public sector as human's nature and psychology is least likely to be affected with passage of time. Hence, It is imperative for good leader that he learns past and acts on it so as to provide the group it leads the best possible future.