Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reas

The presented argument claims that may problems in the society cannot be solved by legal system. The reason provided to support the claim is given as laws cannot change people's mind and their intentions. This issue appears to be contentious and only deeper reflection can help us to take a stand.

First of all, laws and legal systems are essential for humans. Since very beginning of human civilization, humans have tried to introduce discipline in society by introducing do's and dont's for the society which we now formally call as laws. This whole concept of laws precedes back to ancient times, when people at that time used to follow certain doctrines for sake of religion and they were preached that the breach of these doctrines will cause them suffer god's anger. Modern society kind of resembles the same with religious beliefs being replaced by laws and god's wrath being supplanted by punishments for breaches of law.

Human nature is very vivid. Each human being has different thought process and he or she perceives the world in a different manner which is essential their own. If each one of us decides to behave in a way which we find most appropriate without giving regard to others, it will create complete chaos in the society. Hence, in order to bring some order in society, It is essential ton introduce notion of laws and rules. Also, in order to make people follow the laws , it is important to impose some kind of punishment on every act of infringement. Hence, by virtue of these legal system people atleast know that their any act of crime or felony will not be forgiven and will result in certain kind of punishment. This very apprehension about consequence of action may prevent far number of people from committing actual crime.Hence, it can be concluded that laws and legal system do solve problems in society.

However ,we can not always claim that the apprehension about punishment will always prevent crime and free society from all the crimes. People who are too prudent and have far daunting intentions can not be stopped from committing crimes only on basis of existence of law. For example,most terrorists are aware of consequences of their act and probable death sentence if got caught , still they choose to commit their terrorist act. Such terrorists are brain-washed to do so either for absurd religious reason or direct threats to their dear ones. In such case, any law or punishment is not daunting enough for them to deter them from their planned act. Henc,e in such case laws fail to serve their purpose.

To conclude, I believe that laws can be helpful is almost all the society's common problems as they introduce some apprehension in people about consequences of their action. However, some serious crimes such as terrorist acts can not be ceased by mere laws and require some greater measure to change mind and heart of people involved in the same.