In most professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge.

Essay topics

Imagination is defined as the abstract concept developed by us that defines shape of our thoughts and their capacity. On the other hand, knowledge is established facts and concepts that we learn. The presented claim asserts that in most of the professions and academic fields, imagination is more important than knowledge. However, I believe that without knowledge mere imagination can hardly play a role in any field. Hence I mostly disagree with the claim.

To begin with, it is true that imagination does play a crucial role in many fields such as arts and literature. In these fields, creator has to indulge in his own mind-palace and explore the tremendous possible figments of his thoughts.Even imagination does play a major role in scientific realm as well. Quoting Einstein, knowledge can only get you from A to B but Imagination can take you anywhere. If inventors do not imagine, they are very likely to follow accomplished trends and thought processes. However, when one tries to imagine what are their other possibilities other than the traditional ones, he opens himself a door to mighty world of imagination. For instance, had Wright brothers not imagined that humans can travel in the sky just like birds, they would not have been able to invent aeroplane in first place. Hence, imagination acts as primary step of any new innovation.

However to assert that imagination plays greater role than that of knowledge is completely dubious claim. Without knowledge one can not proceed to achieve what he has imagined. In order to bring imagination into reality, one must be able to understand the working of all the related concepts thoroughly. For example, had Wright brothers only imagined flying in the sky but did not make consistent efforts to create aeroplane then their imagination would have been tantamount to that of poet who always writes about flying in the sky. But they did not stop with just speculating about aeroplace but gained thorough knowledge of physics, aerodynamics and electronics in order to create first flying aerolane. Hence, we can confirm that mere imagination is very less likely to prove beneficial in the absence of related knowledge and conscious action.

In many fields, an imagination hardly plays any role at all. For instance in medical field, doctor must be aware of all body anatomy. He must be proficient is deciphering disease from symptoms. He must also be able to prescribe medicine pertaining to specific illness. As this profession is very precarious as it directly deals with lives of people, doctors has to be sure that his knowledge of the medicines and diseases is through enough. He must, not in any case, diagnose the possible disease based on his sole imagination.

Though some people may argue that imagination plays bigger role in some fields such as poetry and painting, without knowledge of how rhythm works or how to use brush to paint a particular stroke, both poet or painter are very less likely to flourish in their respective fields. Hence,to conclude, knowledge is as important as imagination if not slight more crucial.