On Balmer Island, where mopeds serve as a popular form of transportation, the population increases to 100,000 during the summer months. To reduce the number of accidents involving mopeds and pedestrians, the town council of Balmer Island should limit the

In the letter to the editor of the Balmar Island Gazette it is recommended that town council of Balmar Island should limit the number of mopeds rented by island's moped rental company in order to reduce the number of accidents. To advocate this recommendation, population surge during summer and effectiveness of similar policy in neighboring island have been cited as evidences .However, before this recommendation can be properly evaluated following questions must be answered.

First of all , is there increase in number of accidents in summer specially? Author of the letter readily assumed that as there is surge in population there will be increase in number of accidents as well. While it might not be the case. We even dont know what percent of this increased population actually uses moped. It might be the case that there might be increase in number of tourist during summer resulting in higher number of population. These tourists may not rent the mopeds at all instead use cars or taxis. Hence, there might not be any significant rise in number of accidents at all. If this is true then the recommendation appears too unwarranted.

Second, how much is actual rise in population during summer? Author has pointed out that in summer population reaches upto 100,000. But neither population before or after the summer season is provided. It might be the case that the island is populated in all the seasons itself. Hence, implying such policy in summer may not be very effective. Moreover, how the figures of rental capacity are decided? is unknown. Unless any proper statastical analysis backing the reduction in limit of rental from 50 to 25 is presented, it not clear that how this will help reduce number of accidents. It might be the case that there are multiple rental shops out there and many more may open up in order to cater the increased demand of bike due to limit imposed. If either of this scenario is true then the argument does not hold water.

Third, are Seaville and Balmar island comparable? In other words, can circumstances from one island be used to make generalization and prediction about other? Both island may differ significantly in economic or cultural level. Citizens of Balmar may be less prone to following laws as compared to that of Seaville's. It is also possible that the population of Seaville's may not be as much as of Seaville's .Hence, it is not wise to expect the same percent annual reduction as Seaville's after imposing rental limit. If this case is true then the recommendation is proved to be significantly flawed.

In conclusion, the argument as it stands now is considerably flawed due to its resilience on several unwarranted assumptions. If the author of the argument is able to answer above questions and is able to provide more solid evidences along with proper authentic data, then it will be possible to fully evaluate the viability of proposed recommendation of imposing limit on number of rentals of moped.