Understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Leadership is not everyone's cup of tea and it plays a prominent role in the success or failure of a team or purpose. The prompt conveys that understanding the past is of little use to those in current positions of leadership. But if a leader has the understanding of the past then he or she can take better decisons than ever. I will explain this in the next two paragraps.

Firstly, Leaders can take better decisions with the understanding of the past. It gives clear overwiew of the situation and helps them to take control over the situation. As we can see that if we were aware of the past decisions and its consequences then it will be very helpful in making valid and efficient decisions. By this way, a leader can save significant amount of time and invest their time in for other productive tasks and can lead his is peers in the right direction.

Secondly, there are situations which are simliar to the past but the circumstances are entirely different and it is leaders responsibility to analyze the sitaution thoroughly and make appropriate decision. Even though the problem is similar to the past but the it highly impossible to hadle this situation with the same measures taken in the past. In these situations, leaders has to be dynamic and they should make unorthodox decisions for the betterment of his or her peers. Furthermore, there are leaders who are not in sync with the understandings of the past and they proved to be successful. Such as leaders from amazon, facebook, google and so on.

It can be inferred from the above passage,leaders make the better judgment if they understood from the past. Howerver, it is not applicable in all situations and leaders who took unorthodox approaches were also succesful.