Although sound moral judgment is an important characteristic of an effective leader, it is not as important as a leader’s ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

The leader is the one who leads from the front and is considered to be the captain of the ship. The prompt suggests that the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers considered a more important characteristic of an effective leader than sound moral judgment. But, in reality, Taking the moral judgment stands superior to maintaining mutual respect with his or her peers. I would argue this by comparing them in the following two paragraphs.

Firstly, history shows that a leader who concentrated more on mutual respect with his or her peers than making a moral judgment was not successful and created chaos than peace and prosperous. For example, during world war leaders with poor decisions resulted in a nuclear attack and resulted in the destruction of life in the two cities of Japan and still, there is no hope of life in those two cities due to the presence of traces of nuclear radiation. The cause for the nuclear attack is mainly because, of the poor judgment and to maintain mutual respect with the countries that are against Japan. This paragraph depicts the consequences of poor judgment over the ability to maintain the respect of his or her peers.

Further, moral judgment and mutual respect should be in harmony and these impacts the functionality of one another and it is proven that only based on mutual respect, a leader should not come to a conclusion and that is mutual respect should not be sole reason before coming to judgment and he or she should consider the forthcoming of their judgment. For instance, a movie director had an amazing script but due to peer pressure of mutual respect made him choose the wrong casting for his movie and the movie failed miserably in the theaters. This example shows the effects of choosing mutual respect over moral decisions results in disaster.

However, mutual respect is also held responsible for making quality judgments and it is an input to a decision making the process and hence moral judgment is considered as an important characteristic of an effective leader.